Private Coastal Lands Fund

Supporting coastal priority areas in northwestern Mexico

The Project

The objective of the Private Coastal Lands Fund is to support the management of priority coastal areas for conservation in northwestern Mexico.


Since 2012, Resources Legacy Funds (RLF) and FMCN established the Private Coastal Lands Fund with contributions made by RLF. Currently, this fund supports the conservation and management of six private lands located in the following strategic sites: 1) Valle de Los Cirios; 2) Magdalena Bay; 3) San Quintin; 4) San Cosme Corridor; 5) Sinaloa Wetlands; and 6) Marismas Nacionales.

The lines of work that guide the actions of the Coastal Private Lands Fund are:

  1. Land monitoring and management, restoration activities, relocation expenses, and personnel costs associated.
  2. Payment of property and other taxes, and advice on maintaining and documenting land ownership rights.
  3. Minor infrastructure repairs and replacements, signage, and other similar investments to support the management and protection of natural resources on the land.

This fund supports the operation and management of six private lands located in strategic conservation sites.


The project has achieved the payment of property taxes on six coastal lands in Baja California, Baja California Sur, Sinaloa, and Nayarit, which will allow the conservation of 34,119.17 hectares of coastal land.

The Private Coastal Lands Fund supports six subprojects carried out by four organizations that own private land designated as voluntary conservation areas or environmental management units.

During the first half of 2023, in the El Portezuelo Natural Reserve, forest health surveillance and monitoring tours were carried out. At the same time, preventive and informative signs were installed in the Punta Mazo Reserve to promote environmental awareness. Likewise, FMCN carried out four field visits to supervise the execution of some of the activities programmed in the 2023 subprojects. The subprojects have had a positive impact on the conservation and management of the areas, demonstrating good collaboration with key actors. To optimize the use of resources, it is suggested to prepare annual planning based on the current Logical Framework and focus on the primary needs of private lands. In line with these efforts, a new phase of subprojects is expected in 2024.

Learn more about the project:



Donor: Resources Legacy Fund


  • Costasalvaje, A.C.
  • Pronatura Noroeste, A.C.
  • Sociedad de Historia Natural Niparajá, A.C.
  • Terra Peninsular, A. C.